Modern Facts of the Nine Planets

The planets are propitiated in many countries over the centuries.

Nine Planets

In the course of human history various civilisations, countries and cultures have differed on the number and description of the various planets. But, surprisingly, many of them have arrived at the number nine in their choice for the total number.

The planets in the Indian, scheme are (with current names and Greek/Roman names,' where applicable, in brackets):

Suryan (Sun--Apollo), Chandran (Moon-Diana), Angarahan (Mars), Budhan (Mercury, Brihaspati (Jupiter), Sukran (Venus), Sani (Saturn), Rahu and Ketu.

Rahu and- Ketu are variously described as nodal planets (North and South respectively), Dragon's head and tail.

Each planet has its Own day, starting with Sunday for Suryan and successively going on to Saturday for Sani. Rahu and Kethu are allocated one and a half hours each everyday! These rune are collectively called the Navagrahas.It is clear that the earth was not considered a planet; Uranus,Neptune and Pluto were unknown.

Creative, Interesting Aspects:

Each culture has its own story about the creation of the Cosmos. Each culture has its own interesting story to tell and it is easy to discern the difficulty in objectively solving the problem of how something came from nothing.

The traditional Hindu view of creation is that Brahma created the universe from a golden egg. First he made the waters and put a seed m them. It grew into an egg which he split open. The top half became the heavens and the bottom became earth. Thus, all creation emerged from this egg. It IS interesting to note that many civilisations have described creation of the universe from an egg!


Spark of Wisdom Home